Writing 101 – Three Songs

I have been thinking about this blog all morning trying to decide what I want to write. Music has always been a very big part of my life.  I am originally from New York, both of my parents were born and raised in Brooklyn and I lived there until I was 12. A tremendous part of my childhood was going to Broadway plays, specifically musicals.  I even got selected to be part of the Benefit of Agnes DeMille at Shubert Theater when I was 12.  My name was under Mikhail Baryshnikov’s on the program.

My whole family (my mom is one of eight and my dad is one of three plus all the children, grandchildren and extended families), surrounded our events around music, singing and dancing.  It’s someone’s birthday, let’s have a party where we sing and dance.  It’s an anniversary, let’s have a party where we sing and dance.  Christmas, my dad gets on the organ and plays carols and we all sing.  A lot of people in my family were, and still are, very big on hogging the microphone.  I even told my boss in my interview that I sing in the hallways and I hope that won’t be an issue.  He hired me anyway.

I digress.

I cannot pick just three songs.  I love music so much and my tastes are so eclectic, that three songs will not do justice to the music I love.

I will, however, tell you a little about the music that I like.

1. Pop and Rock – from the 50’s to today.

2. 70;s, 80’s & some 90’s music (my era)

3. Musicals

4. Some Country

Jazz hasn’t been something that I have particularly enjoyed in the past but there are always ways to change my mind.  I know there a lot a genres I have missed but the ones above are my staples in music.

The more songs I think about, the more I realize that they are mostly about relationships and love as well as some “Angry Chick” music.  I have decided that either the song has to have meaning or a really good beat.  I have to be able to sing or dance to it.

The favorites off the top of my head:

Maroon 5 – specifically Adam Levine.  There have been a few songs that were overplayed but the majority of my playlist consists of Maroon 5 and Adam Levine. There is a song he sings with Carlos Santana called “Gotten”.  Chorus: “I’ve been saving, these last words for, one last miracle but now I’m not sure, and I can’t save you, if you don’t let me, ’cause you just get me, like I’ve never been gotten before.”

Paramore – I love the song “Playing God” – Chorus: “I know you don’t believe me but it’s the way I see it.  Next time you point a finger I may have to bend it back and break it off.  Next time you point a finger, I’ll point you to the mirror.” Ain’t it Fun is a good one too.

Sara Bareilles – Brave “Say what you want to say and let the words come out, honestly, I want to see you be brave” and King of Anything “Who cares if you disagree, you are not me who made you king of anything.  You dare tell me who to be, who died and made you king of anything.” (I am not a Katy Perry fan, but I do like ROAR which is very similar to Brave)

A Chorus Line, Pippin and Rent are my favorite musicals – favorite songs are “What I did for Love”, “No Time at All” and “Take me Out Tonight” but I can pretty much sing the majority of the songs of both plays.

Garth Brooks, Collin Raye, Lorrie Morgan, Shania Twain and George Straight are my favorite country singers.  I know they are from quite a while ago but I have always connected with their music.  I like some current country singers too but not as much as the ones listed above.  Garth Brooks has so many great songs but my favorite is “It’s Midnight Cinderella.”  Collin Raye has been a staple in my world as well.

My absolute favorite artist from the 80’s is Rick Springfield.  I have been to his concerts and I love his music.  He has new albums that are fantastic (even better than his 80’s stuff).  Now if I can get Adam Levine and Rick Springfield to do a song together, my life will be complete (but I get to meet them both since it’s my idea).

I like a lot of hair bands from the 80’s and early 90’s.  Def Leppard was and will always be one of my favorites and I had two Damn Yankees albums.  Lisa Lisa was always an 80’s favorite of mine too.  There were the 80’s staples of Michael Jackson and Madonna as well.

My teenager listens to rap.  Eminem is his favorite,  I respect Eminem’s music.  It is extremely clever but sometimes a bit over the top for me (as well as many other Rap songs that my son plays).  It’s funny though, on my son’s playlist, he can go from Eminem to the Zac Brown Band to Book of Mormon the Musical to an 80’s Rock Band in one sitting.  His taste in music is also eclectic.

These are some of the artists on my playlist in addition to the ones I mentioned above:

American Hi-Fi, Bette Midler, Blue October, Buckcherry, Chicago, Eagles, Fall Out Boy, Imagine Dragons, J. Geils Band, Jack Wagner, Matchbox Twenty, Meatloaf, No Doubt, Pink, Plain White T’s, Poison, Queen, Ratt, Relient K, The Script, Simple Plan, Stone Sour, Theory of a Deadman, Tim McGraw, Train, Van Halen, The Veronicas and Yellowcard.

This is my music debut for today.

2 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Three Songs

  1. That is so wonderful that your life growing up was so centered around music and theatre! I would love to hear you sing. 🙂 You have a wide variety of music that you like and listen to. I love music but I don’t own a CD player anymore. I need to get me one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t even use the CD player anymore. I get my music online or download it onto my phone. Spotify, Pandora, Amazon Music…these supply me with me daily music fix. 🙂

    I had thought about trying out for “The Voice” but I just don’t think I am at that level. I just want to meet Adam Levine. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

