My Sewing Adventure – 2008 – TM Speech

I like to dress up for Halloween.  There was a costume party coming up that I was planning to go to with my friends.  I tried to think up creative ideas and look things up on the Internet to decide what I wanted to be for this occasion.  Do I want to be sexy, scary or just cute (or all three plus some other adjectives)?  Dressing up reminds me of when I was a kid and I went into my mom’s closet and wore her clothes and shoes.  It is a land of pretend.

The economy wasn’t great. I really didn’t have the money to buy anything new so I decided to try to make my own Halloween costume.  I had splurged earlier in the year on a lingerie outfit so I wanted to get use of the outfit.  However, I wore it at a party a couple of weeks ago so I wanted to mix it up a little. This is just in case I saw someone who had already seen me in the outfit.

I decided to search through my closet and see what I could come up with.  I figured I could wear the top from my lingerie but I wanted to mix up the bottom.  I wasn’t even sure yet what I wanted to be.  Maybe a munchkin (I’m 4’10” tall)?  Maybe a fairy or pixie?  I love the fairy/pixie idea.

I found a broomstick skirt in my closet that had orange and maroon in it.  The top I was planning to wear is black and Merlot colored (basically purple) with white lace.  What if I can mix up some white lace with my broomstick skirt?  In my closet is a white lace dress that I had broken the straps on.  Perfect!

I took the white dress, got out my sewing kit and took the dress apart.  I removed the top of the dress and the lace and I decided to sew the lace over the broomstick skirt.  I got out my orange thread (the skirt is orange) and I hand sewed the white lace over the skirt.  It was wonderful.  It is so relaxing for me to sew and I watched Heroes and just relaxed stitching in and out.  I had to cut the lace and that left a seam open but it is alright. Maybe it will be sexy or maybe I can sew it later.  Still, I was so proud of my creativity and my accomplishment of finding things in my closet that I could put together.  I tried it on and I wasn’t sure I liked the way the lace fell but it was still cute.

The afternoon before the party, I went to visit a woman who was going to teach me to sew for a Non-profit organization we belonged to.  I brought my skirt with the lace and thought maybe she could help me.  She has a sewing machine (something I didn’t have).  Learning to sew on a sewing machine is really fun.  I sat down that afternoon and she taught me how to sew the gowns for the memory boxes for the organization and then I asked her to help me with the skirt.

First, I sewed up the open seam on the white lace.  Then I tried to figure out how to bring the hem of the skirt up to make it a knee-length skirt instead of a floor length skirt.  I had a great idea but I could tell the woman had other things to do than to bother with my skirt. I did a quick fix and I thought it looked really cute.  It made the skirt poof out and shortened it to knee-length.  I knew it wasn’t perfect, but it was so much fun!!!

So I went home to get ready for the party.  My friend was coming over to get dressed and go to the party with me.  I went out and found Angel wings at Big Lots for $6 and I went to Wal-Mart and bought pink, purple and gold glitter spray for my hair and my wings.  I even knew I was going to put my hair in pigtails.  I bought ponytail holders with little bows on them in pink and purple.  This was so exciting.

When my friend got there, I showed her my wonderful skirt and as I looked at it in the mirror I realized a few things.

  1. The skirt is too big around my waist.
  2. The lace looked awful
  3. The colors didn’t match with my top.

It seemed like a good idea at the time.  It was fun putting it together.  However, it really didn’t work for the purposes I was looking for.  Perspective is everything

So I wore the same lingerie outfit again, without the stockings, with different shoes but a whole new look to it.  I put my hair in pigtails, I put on my wings and my friend painted designs on my face in pink and purple.  I sprayed my hair with the pink and purple hairspray and sprayed gold glitter through my hair and all over my body.  I felt good and I looked good.

Then I looked at my bathroom.

There is gold glitter everywhere on my counters, the faucet has turned pink and there is a pink and purple outline of wings on my carpet. Then I reasoned it out…the carpet needs to be replaced anyway, the faucet will clean (if I ever get to it) and DANGIT, I look cute.

I may not have sewed it myself, but I felt good about the finished product.  As an early birthday gift, I asked for a sewing machine and my parents bought me a nice one. I can’t wait to use it.

As for the skirt I put together, I took it apart.  I took off the lace and took out the stitching I did on the skirt.  I cut it and made it into a knee-length skirt.  I got a new sewing machine and was able to hem the skirt all by myself.  I tried to make my son a costume but I think that will have to wait until next year.  The sewing machine is a whole new adventure….

So here is a picture of my finished product .

Fairy

I have since given the sewing machine to my niece who makes costumes for plays.  Sewing is not my thing.  I have many new adventures to go on.

Leave a Reply

